Roman Catholic Diocese of San Bernardino, California


“The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian’s life of faith” (Catechism of the Catholic Church #1210).

Each of the Seven Sacraments was instituted by God as a gift to us with a specific purpose. The Sacraments are grouped together in three categories:

Sacraments of Initiation: Baptism, Eucharist, and Confirmation

Sacraments of Healing: Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick

Sacraments at the Service of Communion: Holy Orders and Matrimony